UM-Flint Presents Awards at Fall Convocation

Share or print this article
Fall Convocation Program
Fall Convocation Program

The University of Michigan-Flint held its annual Fall Convocation September 1 at the university theatre to celebrate those receiving faculty awards, promotion and/or tenure, and to honor those receiving service awards. New faculty were also welcomed, faculty who have passed away were remembered, and new staff were recognized.

Nineteen new faculty were announced at the event. Seventeen faculty and staff received promotions and/or tenure. Twenty-seven faculty were honored with service awards, ranging from 10 or more years of service, to 30 years or more.

The faculty award recipients:

David M. French Professor Award

Clement Chen, Professor of Accounting

Scholarly or Creative Achievement Award

Jami Anderson, Professor of Philosophy

Teaching Excellence Award

Hiba Wehbe-Alamah, Associate Professor of Nursing

Distinguished Service Award

Suzanne Selig, Professor of Public Health, Director of Public Health and Health Sciences

Alvin D. Loving Junior Faculty Initiative Award

Pamela Ross McClain, Assistant Professor of Education

Lucinda Hinsdale Stone Junior Women Faculty Award

Victoria Morckel, Assistant Professor of Geography, Planning, and Environment

Lawrence D. Kugler Academic Advisor Excellence Award

Jessica Tischler, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Dr. Lois Matz Rosen Junior Excellence in Teaching Award

Amy Yorke, Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy

Dorothea E. Wyatt Award

Kristen Campbell, Program Coordinator, Women's Educational Center

Olivia P. Maynard and Olof Karlstrom Faculty Award for Civic Engagement

Annie Whitlock, Assistant Professor of Education

Collegiate Lecturer Award

Dennis Viele, Lecturer of Biology

Michigan Association of State Universities Sponsored Faculty Award

Joseph Sucic, Professor of Biology

Faculty Service Award Recipients:

10 Years or more:
Margaret Andrews
Brian Blume
Francine Cullari
Christopher Douglas
Marilyn Filter
Hillary Heinze
William Irwin
Christina Kenney
Suzanne Knezek
Quamrul Mazumder
Marilyn McFarland
Cathleen Miller
Sarah Rosaen
Suleyman Uludag
Kimberly VanSlyke-Smith
Hiba Wehbe-Alamah
Janelle Wiess
Teresa Yoder-Nowak

20 Years or more:
Roy Barnes
Mary Jo Gifford
Mark Perry
Becky Rodda
Michael Sevick
Paul Streby
Joseph Sucic

30 Years or more:
Barbara Kupferschmid
Thomas Wrobel


College of Arts & Sciences

From associate professor with tenure to professor with tenure
Terrence G. Horgan
Jie Song

From assistant professor to associate professor with tenure
Heather A. Dawson
Thomas C. Henthorn
Jessica L. Kelts
Nicholas B. Kingsley
William F. McKibbin
Laura McLeman
Karen Salvador
Howard M. Thompson

School of Management

From associate professor with tenure to professor with tenure
Brian D. Blume

School of Education & Human Services

From assistant professor to associate professor with tenure
Elizabeth K. Collardey

School of Health Professions & Studies

From associate professor with tenure to professor with tenure
Allon Goldberg

From assistant professor to associate professor with tenure
Min-Hui Huang
Marsha L. Lesley

From clinical associate professor to clinical professor
Becky J. Rodda

Frances Willson Thompson Library

From associate librarian to senior associate librarian
Mickey Doyle

Contact University Communications & Marketing with comments, questions, or story ideas.