UM-Flint Names Maize and Blue Award Recipients

Share or print this article
Graduate's cap reads "I did it!"

The following graduates are the recipients of the Maize and Blue Distinguished Scholar Award, the highest academic award bestowed upon the graduates of the University of Michigan-Flint. The selection of students was recently announced by the Scholarships, Awards and Special Events Committee and Provost Gerard Voland. These awards will be presented at the commencement program on Sunday, December 15, 2013 at the Perani Arena and Events Center.

Shelby D. Brooks*
Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing

Mary B. Combi**
Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education with a concentration in Language Arts, Mathematics and Fine Arts

Kayla J. Cornell**
Bachelor of Arts in Communication with a concentration in Professional Communication

Rosalie A. Crothers-Evans-Krol**
Bachelor of Business Administration

Benita G. Curtis**
Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education with a concentration in Language Arts and Mathematics

Jonathan R. Kirbitz**
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Suzan C. Limberg*
Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science and Planning

David M. Linden**
Bachelor of Arts in English-Writing Specialization

Mariana Lopez*
Bachelor of Social Work

James D.J. O'Dea***
Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy

Maureen J. Reinsel**
Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Salaam Tarakji** (Double Major)
Bachelor of Science in Mathematics Teaching Certificate Program and Psychology

Miri K. Weidner*
Bachelor of Science in Health Care Administration

*with honors/with distinction

**with high honors/with high distinction

***James D.J. O'Dea will be the student speaker at the December 15, 2013 commencement ceremony

Contact University Communications & Marketing with comments, questions, or story ideas.