UM-Flint Faculty Awards Presented at Academic Affairs Convocation

Share or print this article
Provost Douglas Knerr presents award to Africana Studies professor Ernest Emenyonu
Provost Douglas Knerr presents award to Africana Studies professor Ernest Emenyonu

The University of Michigan-Flint held its annual Academic Affairs Convocation August 31 at the university theatre to celebrate those receiving faculty awards, promotion and/or tenure, and to honor those receiving service awards. New faculty members were also welcomed.

Twenty-eight new faculty were announced at the event. Seventeen faculty members receive promotions and/or tenure. Nineteen were honored with service awards, ranging from 10 or more years of service, to forty years or more.

Chancellor Susan E. Borrego lauded the "quality and caliber" of faculty at UM-Flint.

"Thank you for your outstanding work," she said.

The faculty award recipients:

Teaching Excellence Award

Lois Alexander, Professor of Music

Scholarly or Creative Achievement Award

Lixing Han, Professor of Mathematics

Distinguished Service Award

Kathy Schellenberg, Associate Professor of Sociology

Alvin D. Loving Senior Faculty Initiative Award

Ernest Emenyonu, Professor of Africana Studies

Lucinda Hinsdale Stone Junior Women Faculty Award

Karen Salvador, Assistant Professor of Music

Lawrence D. Kugler Academic Advisor Excellence Award

Brenda Cameron, Manager of Quality Improvement for Public Health and Health Sciences

Dorothea E. Wyatt Award

Peggy Kahn, David M. French Professor and Professor of Political Science

Dr. Lois Matz Rosen Junior Excellence in Teaching Award

Nicholas Kingsley, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Collegiate Lecturer Award

Traci Currie, Lecturer of Communication and Visual Arts

UM-Flint Nominee for the Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year Award

Ricardo Alfaro, David M. French Professor and Professor of Mathematics

The Office of Marketing & Communications can be reached at [email protected].