UM-Flint Announces 2015 Faculty and Staff Award Winners

Share or print this article
UM-Flint students walking on campus near the Flint River.
UM-Flint students walking on campus near the Flint River.

The University of Michigan-Flint Office of the Provost, with the assistance of the Scholarships, Awards, and Special Events Committee, announced several faculty and staff awards for 2015.

This year's awards and recipients:

Distinguished Service Award

($2,000 stipend)

Kathryn Schellenberg, Associate Professor of Sociology

Scholarly or Creative Achievement Award

($2,000 stipend)

Lixing Han, Professor of Mathematics

Teaching Excellence Award

($2,000 stipend and member of the Thompson Center for Learning and Teaching (TCLT) advisory committee for three years)

Lois Alexander, Associate Professor of Music

Lawrence D. Kugler Academic Advisor Excellence Award

($2,000 stipend)

Brenda Cameron, Quality Improvement Projects Manager in Public Health & Health Sciences.

Alvin D. Loving Senior Faculty Initiative Award

(One year with released time of one three-credit-hour course per semester. in which the recipient can use this time for other professional efforts such as research, service, etc.):

Ernest Emenyonu, Professor of Africana Studies, Chair of Africana Studies Department

Lucinda Hinsdale Stone Junior Women Faculty Award

("reassigned time of two three-credit courses during the academic year in which the recipient holds this award. The recipient will also receive a privately-funded monetary stipend to be used in any way best suited to her scholarly and pedagogical interests")

Karen Salvador, Assistant Professor of Music

Dorothea E. Wyatt Award

($2,000 stipend)

Peggy Kahn, Professor of Political Science

Dr. Lois Matz Rosen Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

($1,000 stipend. The recipient is chosen by the TCLT advisory board)

Nicholas Kingsley, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Contact University Relations staff writer Robert Gold with comments, questions, and ideas at [email protected], (810) 424-5596, or on Twitter, @writerobert.

The Office of Marketing & Communications can be reached at [email protected].