Music from Flint to France will only be a "click" away

Share or print this article
The recital will take place on Saturday, June 16, 1 p.m., in Rm. 164 French Hall.

A French composer in Asnieres, France will listen and watch, via the internet, a live presentation of his works from the campus of the University of Michigan-Flint.

Christian Manen

UM-Flint faculty from the Department of Music will join with faculty from the Flint Institute of Music (School of Performing Arts) to collaborate in this unique presentation of the music of French composer Professor Christian Manen. UM-Flint music student Benjamin Moore, has been invited to join the performance. The recital will take place on Saturday, June 16, 1 p.m., in Rm. 164 French Hall.

Manen served on the faculty of the Asnieres Conservatory of Music and Dance from 1954 to 1999. He also was appointed to the faculty of the Paris Conservatory of Music and Dance from 1965 to 1999.

In addition to his teaching and composing activities, Manen founded the Asnieres Cadet Orchestre in 1970.

In 2001, he became Chairman of the Music and Dramatic Art Leopold Bellan General Challenge.

As composer, Christian Manen is proud to be on the fringe of any "system." His music resists labels, and he refuses to be confined by any one mode of composition.

Professor Manen is no stranger to Flint.  An exchange opportunity between the Flint Youth Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Flint School of Performing Arts Director Davin Pierson Torre, and the Asnieres Cadet Orchestra first brought Professor Manen to Flint.  Torre also arranged for Manen to spend time with UM-Flint students, eventually resulting in the Department of Music commissioning a work by Manen for winds and percussion.

The Saturday program will include:

Quatre Paysages Italiens

I.   Du Haut du Campanil
II.  La Chapelle aux Ifs
III. L'Estate
IV. Rome depuis Toits et Coupoles

Meghan Merciers, clarinet; Ina Yoon, piano

Pavane et Saltarelle

Lois Alexander, euphonium; Gabriela Hristova, piano


Hyunsoo Kim Kwon, piano

Dans la Fôret

Jeffrey Price, saxophone; Ina Yoon, piano


II.  Scherzando

XI.  Allègrement

VI.  Vivo

Benjamin Moore, percussion

Grave et Scherzo

James Layfield, bass trombone; Hyunsoo Kim Kwon, piano


Benjamin Moore, percussion; Hyunsoo Kim Kwon, piano

The Office of Marketing & Communications can be reached at [email protected].